Legal age for kids and life jackets?
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread:
Legal age for kids and life jackets?

  1. #1
    Senior Member shadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Lake Havasu
    Posts
    1,459

    Default Legal age for kids and life jackets?

    Before this thread goes side ways about safety and kids

    I just have a question about leagal age is it 13 yrs old?
    I know my kids will be wearing them if they are moving at any type of speed other than in my toon.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    PerformanceBoats.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    TPC
    TPC is offline
    You who rock I salute you TPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Catalina Island
    Posts
    3,339

    Default

    12 in Arizona
    Your direction, not your intention, leads to your destination



  4. #3
    Senior Member shadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Lake Havasu
    Posts
    1,459

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TPC View Post
    12 in Arizona
    Thanks! I thought it was 12 or 13,Is it 12 in California as well?

  5. #4
    Senior Member Singleton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carlsbad, Ca
    Posts
    884

    Default

    13 in California, 12 in Arizona
    2007 26' Ultra Shadow Deck

  6. #5
    waitin' on summer AZREDNECK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Lake Havasu, Az.
    Posts
    280

    Default

    12 years old to drive the boat too!

  7. #6
    Senior Member 77charger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,531

    Default

    If its 13 in ca then on havasu they will have to be wearing one.Will only be a prob if stopped by a califronia water cop(sb sheriffs)Wont matter if you are on the az side or not.

    Also gos for pwcs sb can enforce ca laws anywhere on the lake.Even if it is legal for az residents or az lakes.Ex say its legal for a 12 year old to operate one he stays on the az side but sb sheriff drives by and decides to stop him and find out his age they can cite.But az might not even bother with it if its legal.

    I learned that in boater safety too!

  8. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    In a house, on a street, in a city, in Arizona.
    Posts
    4,599

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Singleton View Post
    13 in California, 12 in Arizona
    So just say the kid is 14 and the problems are solved, not that it would be right to give false information to a LEO.

  9. #8
    Don't Taze Me, Bro! BoatCop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Parker, AZ
    Posts
    1,885

    Default

    12 and under must wear them in AZ, CA and most other states. Same for Federal Law.

    A good way to remember is when they become teenagers (and know everything) they don't have to wear them.
    Alan
    BoatCop

    Get the latest Boating News at BoatCop Reports!


  10. #9
    waitin' on summer AZREDNECK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Lake Havasu, Az.
    Posts
    280

    Default

    I cant wait til next year my boy will be old enough to drive the boat. I'll have my own personal D.D.

  11. #10
    Senior Member mike37's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Paso Robles
    Posts
    293

    Default

    how old to drive a boat in California

  12. #11
    Don't Taze Me, Bro! BoatCop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Parker, AZ
    Posts
    1,885

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mike37 View Post
    how old to drive a boat in California
    California is 16 to drive alone. 12 to drive with an adult. Under 12 cannot have any control of the vessel.
    Alan
    BoatCop

    Get the latest Boating News at BoatCop Reports!


  13. #12
    Senior Member mike37's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Paso Robles
    Posts
    293

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BoatCop View Post
    California is 16 to drive alone. 12 to drive with an adult. Under 12 cannot have any control of the vessel.
    thanks thats what I thought

  14. #13
    Senior Member 77charger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,531

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BoatCop View Post
    California is 16 to drive alone. 12 to drive with an adult. Under 12 cannot have any control of the vessel.
    UH oh.Guilty of that i let my 2 and 6 year old sit on my lap and steer the boat.

    I remember when we were younger at powell or naci my dad would let us go out by ourselves to waterski usually at least 5 of us in our old jetboat i was the oldest at 12 and we took turns driving and pulling skiers youngest driving was about 10 at worst the pos side if the boat had a prob we all knew how to fix it if needed. and the lalw never bothered us even when we drove by except one time they told us not to drive thru one cut we were going thru at powell guy was laughing seeing a bunch of kids driving though.

    cant do that these days even observer has to be 12

+ Reply to Thread

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Tags for this Thread

Digg This Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91