New NC boating law.
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread:
New NC boating law.

  1. #1
    MIL River Rat Miss Adlaide III's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Charlotte
    Posts
    189

    Default New NC boating law.

    Just thought I wouuld pass this along.

    Chapter 4: The Legal Requirements of Boating
    Who May Operate a Vessel or a PWC


    Who May Operate a Vessel - Effective May 1, 2010

    A person younger than 26 years old may operate a vessel with a motor of 10 horsepower or greater on North Carolina waters only if he or she:
    • Completes and passes a boating safety course that is approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) and accepted by the Wildlife Resources Commission or…
    • Is accompanied on board by and under the direct supervision of a person who is at least 26 years old or…
    • Is accompanied on board by and under the direct supervision of a person who is at least 18 years old and who has passed an approved boating safety course.
    Anyone operating a vessel with a motor of 10 horsepower or greater must:
    • Carry on board his or her boater education certification card or other proof of compliance with the new law (see below) and…
    • Make the card or other proof available upon request by an enforcement officer.
    New Boating Law
    For more information and exemptions on the boating law (G.S. 75A -16.2) that becomes effective on May 1, 2010, visit: www.ncga.state.nc.us/Sessions/2009/Bills/Senate/PDF/S43v4.pdf

    Glad I am exempt.

    Is it Summer yet?

  2. Remove Advertisements
    PerformanceBoats.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member MrsDoubleTrouble52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Charlotte North Carolina
    Posts
    148

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Miss Adlaide III View Post
    Just thought I wouuld pass this along.

    Chapter 4: The Legal Requirements of Boating
    Who May Operate a Vessel or a PWC

    Who May Operate a Vessel - Effective May 1, 2010


    A person younger than 26 years old may operate a vessel with a motor of 10 horsepower or greater on North Carolina waters only if he or she:
    • Completes and passes a boating safety course that is approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) and accepted by the Wildlife Resources Commission or…
    • Is accompanied on board by and under the direct supervision of a person who is at least 26 years old or…
    • Is accompanied on board by and under the direct supervision of a person who is at least 18 years old and who has passed an approved boating safety course.
    Anyone operating a vessel with a motor of 10 horsepower or greater must:
    • Carry on board his or her boater education certification card or other proof of compliance with the new law (see below) and…
    • Make the card or other proof available upon request by an enforcement officer.
    New Boating Law
    For more information and exemptions on the boating law (G.S. 75A -16.2) that becomes effective on May 1, 2010, visit: www.ncga.state.nc.us/Sessions/2009/Bills/Senate/PDF/S43v4.pdf

    Glad I am exempt.

    So according to this those of us with 10 or more HP must take the course? Well that sucks.

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    WV
    Posts
    411

    Default

    Looks like only if you are 26 years old or younger, I know that is a touchy subject sometimes, I'm terrible at judging ages, maybe that does qualify for you Mrs. DoubleTrouble, I dun know, you tell us.
    Last edited by Jspeeddemon; 03-22-2010 at 09:05 PM.

  5. Remove Advertisements
    PerformanceBoats.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Classic Hotboater! GasGuzzler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    High Rock Lake, N.C.
    Posts
    932

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MrsDoubleTrouble52 View Post
    So according to this those of us with 10 or more HP must take the course? Well that sucks.
    I think you will qualify without taking the course.
    Tell em you only have have 9 HP!
    CLASSIC HOTBOATS!

  7. #5
    Senior Member MrsDoubleTrouble52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Charlotte North Carolina
    Posts
    148

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jspeeddemon View Post
    Looks like only if you are 26 years old or younger, I know that is a touchy subject sometimes, I'm terrible at judging ages, maybe that does qualify for you Mrs. DoubleTrouble, I dun know, you tell us.
    lol I have no problem telling my age ( 46) so hopefully this exempts me..

  8. #6
    Senior Member MrsDoubleTrouble52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Charlotte North Carolina
    Posts
    148

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GasGuzzler View Post
    I think you will qualify without taking the course.
    Tell em you only have have 9 HP!

    I like the way you think Guzz...lol

  9. #7
    Drunk Mrs. Orange Peel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    charlotte nc
    Posts
    12

    Default

    To bad they didn't come up with that 4 years ago could have saved Nathan a BUI hahahahahah
    Who's got the APPLE PIE??

  10. #8
    Senior Member eliminator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Roanoke VA
    Posts
    854

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Miss Adlaide III View Post
    Just thought I wouuld pass this along.

    Chapter 4: The Legal Requirements of Boating
    Who May Operate a Vessel or a PWC


    Who May Operate a Vessel - Effective May 1, 2010

    A person younger than 26 years old may operate a vessel with a motor of 10 horsepower or greater on North Carolina waters only if he or she:
    • Completes and passes a boating safety course that is approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) and accepted by the Wildlife Resources Commission or…
    • Is accompanied on board by and under the direct supervision of a person who is at least 26 years old or…
    • Is accompanied on board by and under the direct supervision of a person who is at least 18 years old and who has passed an approved boating safety course.
    Anyone operating a vessel with a motor of 10 horsepower or greater must:
    • Carry on board his or her boater education certification card or other proof of compliance with the new law (see below) and…
    • Make the card or other proof available upon request by an enforcement officer.
    New Boating Law
    For more information and exemptions on the boating law (G.S. 75A -16.2) that becomes effective on May 1, 2010, visit: www.ncga.state.nc.us/Sessions/2009/Bills/Senate/PDF/S43v4.pdf

    Glad I am exempt.
    Hell , my boat is old enough it does not need to take the course
    Spider Monkey Racing
    FRIENDS DONT LET FRIENDS DRIVE EGGBEATERS

  11. #9
    Old School Dragracer Katcobra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Knightdale , NC
    Posts
    67

    Cool

    I Don't think you could pass it your tooooooooooooo old school
    CLASSIC HOTBOATS !

  12. #10
    classic hot boater Orange Peel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Mt. Island NC
    Posts
    1,174

    Default I am dumb one!

    Not sure what Im reading here?Seems like anyone 27 and above does not need one? is this for all persons with 10HP or more, or just 26 and under?
    Never forget where you come from,no matter where you are going.

  13. #11
    MIL River Rat Miss Adlaide III's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Charlotte
    Posts
    189

    Default

    If your boat has more than 10hp, then:

    You must have proof that you are over 25 years old in your boat or PWC.

    Persons under 26, must have taken a class to drive a boat that has more than 10hp.
    Last edited by Miss Adlaide III; 03-26-2010 at 07:39 AM.

    Is it Summer yet?

  14. #12
    Senior Member Delemorte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Charlotte, NC.
    Posts
    1,553

    Default

    Hate to say it but good... I see a lot of dumb kids out on PWC and wake board boats doing dumb shit... then again im not under 26 so i may be biased.
    Quote Originally Posted by jetboatperformance View Post
    the ensueing fire would likely be extinguished by the sinking however

  15. #13
    Senior Member eliminator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Roanoke VA
    Posts
    854

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Delemorte View Post
    Hate to say it but good... I see a lot of dumb kids out on PWC and wake board boats doing dumb shit... then again im not under 26 so i may be biased.
    I see people of all ages do dumb shit almost every weekend
    Spider Monkey Racing
    FRIENDS DONT LET FRIENDS DRIVE EGGBEATERS

+ Reply to Thread

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Digg This Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
 

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95