Mussel inspection in Tahoe questions
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 14 of 28

Thread:
Mussel inspection in Tahoe questions

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    138

    Default Mussel inspection in Tahoe questions

    Has anyone on here gone through the mussel inspection at Lake Tahoe yet? If so what did they check? Do you need to drain your sea strainers, motors, etc.? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    PerformanceBoats.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    . BEAR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Colfax CA
    Posts
    46

    Default

    http://www.tahoeais.org/AIS_Inspecti...eet_2-side.pdf

    and

    www.protecttoahoe.org

    They check for ANY standing water in the bilge, as well as check the entire running surface, drives, and any surface that could touch water or hide critters.
    They will ask you many questions such as, last body of water, how long ago, hometown, etc.
    The process takes a while so plan accordingly.
    I was charged by the size of the boat, $40 for a 35'.

    Hope that helps.

    On a side note:
    Don't lie to the inspectors, the mussels are nasty critters and we defiantly don't want them in Tahoe, if they suspect you have or might have mussels, they have a hi heat water treatment you can go through before launching.

  4. #3
    Senior Member GAWnCA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA, USA
    Posts
    2,510

    Default

    Is there a list of waters that are infected? It would be nice to knwo where to stay away from.
    Wags

  5. Remove Advertisements
    PerformanceBoats.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Senior Member Bubbletop409's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Castro Valley, State of Insanity
    Posts
    1,407

    Default

    Preventing the spread of these creatures is necessary. The Tahoe eco-nazis making a profit from it is despicable, and one of the main reasons my wife and I are passing on going this year. To me it's a matter of principles.

    I'd also be curious as to what if any training the so called " inspectors " were given prior to being put to work.
    Larry

    62 Bel-Air 409
    260 Eagle XP HP500EFI
    2016 Corvette Z51
    79 Cole TR-2 Sunset Racecraft 565 (RIP Tracy)
    Remember in November
    Well done USN Seal Team 6

  7. #5
    Senior Member GAWnCA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA, USA
    Posts
    2,510

    Default

    I think if they can sign their name with an "X" they passed the test and were put to work... Or if their green card was not laminated they were also put to work.
    Wags

  8. #6
    Senior Member jsantos12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Danville, CA
    Posts
    177

    Default

    Went through the inspection last week (July 4th weekend) at the Keys Marina. The inspector (young guy 18-21 years of age) briefly looked over the hull, took a very quick look into the bilge and asked where I boated last. Not sure he could have accurately determined if the boat needed any treatment in the time he took to inspect. Took less than 5 minutes. It seems they were pushing boats through the process very quickly because of the launch line. Cost $40 for my 2750 Nuera.

    Launch=$35
    Trailer storage for 1 day=$40
    Inspection=$40
    Total $115 for a day of boating.

    I love boating on Tahoe but seems like pricing gouging. I guess if you can...more power to you.

  9. #7
    Senior Member GAWnCA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA, USA
    Posts
    2,510

    Default

    Not to mention the gas, food and drinks!
    Wags

  10. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    233

    Default

    I heard they were now charging for the inspection. When I went in for my 2 weeks in Tahoe last summer at Tahoe City Coast Guard Station ramp they did an inspection. My boat is registered in Arizona and my last trip 2 months before Tahoe was Havasu - the inspector looked everything over pretty closely, but after seeing that everything was clean and dry he said have fun - no charge.

    It will be interesting to see if they have changed their tune this year on the inspection. Regardless it is a problem we don't want to add to Tahoe's waters.

    JCM

  11. #9
    . BEAR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Colfax CA
    Posts
    46

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jsantos12 View Post
    Took less than 5 minutes.
    It took me an hour at sand harbor.

    Launch= $10
    Inspection=$40
    Trailer Storage= free, on the side of the road, incline.
    Total $50 for a day on Tahoe.

  12. #10

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    138

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BEAR View Post
    It took me an hour at sand harbor.

    Launch= $10
    Inspection=$40
    Trailer Storage= free, on the side of the road, incline.
    Total $50 for a day on Tahoe.
    What took so long and what did they check?

  13. #11
    Senior Member rshrp2003's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    408

    Default

    How about cave rock?

  14. #12
    Senior Member rshrp2003's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    408

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cobalt23 View Post
    What took so long and what did they check?
    They made him take off his shoes,checked his ID,walk back wards around his boat,gave him a trailer parking test....blindfolded, took his beer.and then told him he has to get back in line.

  15. #13
    Senior Member rshrp2003's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    408

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BEAR View Post
    It took me an hour at sand harbor.

    Launch= $10
    Inspection=$40
    Trailer Storage= free, on the side of the road, incline.
    Total $50 for a day on Tahoe.
    I thought you couldn't park your trailer on the street?

  16. #14
    . BEAR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Colfax CA
    Posts
    46

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cobalt23 View Post
    What took so long and what did they check?
    Mostly just educating about the damage that could be done, the actual inspection took about 20 minutes and there was alot of wait time.

    You can park on the street with a trailer on the North Shore if you know where to go.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Tags for this Thread

Digg This Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
 

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95