Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
939 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can someone school me/us on 16 volt systems. Would this be a consideration for a blown alcohol system, with MSD Mag 40. How would everything else work?

Jerry

·
Registered
1,001 Posts
MSD Pro Mags require 200rpm cranking speed to create the spark necessary to start the engine. I found that my alcohol engine using a Tilton starter would not turn the motor 200rpm, therefore the engine wouldn't start. What I did was purchase a starter from Mike Dunn, (417) 967-0528, that has one additional tooth on the pinion gear and that fixed the problem. Maybe 16 volts would work, but I have no experience trying that. Good luck...

·
Registered
4,218 Posts
Can someone school me/us on 16 volt systems. Would this be a consideration for a blown alcohol system, with MSD Mag 40. How would everything else work?

Jerry
I run a gear reduction starter and a 16v system and it cranks over very fast. Boat211 uses a 16v with a msd mag and a mini starter and it fires every time.
whatch buildin Jerry??? Top secret boat and motor??

·
Registered
939 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
16 volt

I run a gear reduction starter and a 16v system and it cranks over very fast. Boat211 uses a 16v with a msd mag and a mini starter and it fires every time.
whatch buildin Jerry??? Top secret boat and motor??
Do you use a 12 volt starter and just put 16 to it, or is it designed for 16volt?

what about the rest of the electrical? Do you use a filter/reducer or ?

Nothing top secret. It's blown alcohol in a Sanger hydro.

Jerry

·
Registered
4,218 Posts
Do you use a 12 volt starter and just put 16 to it, or is it designed for 16volt?

what about the rest of the electrical? Do you use a filter/reducer or ?

Nothing top secret. It's blown alcohol in a Sanger hydro.

Jerry