Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

first time posting here, though i've been reading alot. i may finally be buying a v-drive flat bottom, which i have wanted since i was a kid! when i was a kid my dad lived on wolverine lake in michigan, and there were a number of flat bottoms around there in the late 70s.

so, i found a 1965 Howard for sale. i haven't seen it in person because it's far away, but i'll make the drive if it's worth it. what do the experts think? see these pictures and note the spider web cracking on the dashboard, and also the condition of the one stringer that's visible. does this look ok?

i'm a fairly good mechanic and can fix most anything, but i wonder if i can run this boat for the summer of 2021 without doing much of anything. owner says the motor runs good. mopar 440 bored .030 over. ported heads. 727 trans. 10 degree casale v drive.

-David

·
Just Me
4,072 Posts
A lot depends on what can't be seen in the pictures. The far left board for the pedal mounting is shot. It will need to be replaced. Will it last a year? maybe. More concerning is the front fuel tank. Is it fiberglass? If so and if they put modern fuel in it, the ethanol in the gas has probably done a number on that tank. It might already be leaking or it might be about to start. I wouldn't risk it. There are a lot of other boats closer to Michigan that are for sale and are probably in a lot better shape. Unless it is a steal of a price and you are going there anyway, I'd pass.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply. things like the far left board don't bother me. the fuel tank as well is replaceable, but that is very good info, thanks. the owner is asking $5k. do you think that's a good price? it seemed good to me, he has a difficult time to sell due to his location.

·
Premium Member
1,780 Posts