Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3,739 Posts
Great motors, I will say that the heads are set up a little tight for a marine application. With the aluminum heads you may want to take them apart and have the valve guides clearanced, besides that they run great. I have two GM crate motors which I'm very pleased. One is 454 HO motor in my cruiser that I have been running for 8 years now, I has had 3 intakes on it, several different sets of headers thru transom and dry and it starts every time. The other is a GM 502/502 short block with AFR heads and custom solid roller cam with a tunnel ram producing 740 hp. I disassembled the lower end for inspection after a year of racing and all the bearings look brand new.

That motor will give you many years of reliable service. Just make sure that you open up the valve guides a little.

·
Registered
194 Posts
i have a 450 hp marine 502 it runs great, the insides are bone stock has an edelbrock intake and 850 double pumper and basset headers turns 52-5300 rpms with my berkely pump and b impeller the only drawback is that you have to run an electric fuel pump.

·
classic hot boater
1,174 Posts
502/502

We had this alum head 502 in a gullwing we added a 420 mega blower it was great. Had a few problems with it.. I would change the stock roller rockers.
I agree with widowmaker on the heads i did drop a vavle one time with the blower,also broke a roller rocker and a roller off the lifter. But I think they are great engines and will be great with a tunnel ram but may go with bigger carbs but i ran two 850 dp with the blower.
On a 454 30 over i was running 750 dps on tunnel ram so u could say i like a bigger carb. You can always jet down if you need to.

Good luck with this.:)devil

·
Premium Member
126 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks guys for all the positive input. I ordered it this morning from the local Chevy dealer. Supposed to be here in 3-4 days. :D

·
Registered
473 Posts