Performance Boats Forum banner
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
3,840 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I tend not to post any of this since you guys are on top of it but I heard this morning on the local channel here that their was a single boat accident. I believe they said it was a 29' fountain that lost control around the sand bar area and hit the California shore. I believe 4 or 5 people where involved but said to be okay and where released from the hospital. They also said excess speed was a factor. Anyone else have any information? Sounds like they were very lucky!!!!

·
Registered
942 Posts
seems like losing a PS belt would just make it more difficult - not impossible to steer. Not sure since I have no experience with DCB's and how they handle. Now a drive coming loose/off makes sense for a sudden hard turn....

Glad to hear no real serious injuries. Nonetheless, prayers for speedy and complete recovery.

·
Registered
3,840 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
It was a 29 foot DCB doing about 80 mph in front of sandbar. Driver says the power steering belt came off causing the boat to make a hard right turn ripping the steering wheel out of his hands. Driver was ejected but only had minor bumps and bruises. 3 Passengers, 1 broken leg, 1 with a concussion, and the other with a minor back injury. Here is my question can loosing the power steering belt cause this? Or is it more likely that he snapped the drive.
Well I'm not sure!!! I would venture to say no!!! I just can't see it ripping the wheel out of your hand just out of the blue. Maybe if it was rough conditions or he hit something..

LOL, man I wasn't even close. Guess I need to clean my ears out!! funny thing is, I wanted to put DCB but for some reason fountain was stuck in my head!! Glad they were okay!!

·
Registered
2,085 Posts
Isn't thyat one of the primary reasons for external hyd steering, losing the belt? Did he have HD steering?

·
Registered
982 Posts
From Justsaynews.com