Performance Boats Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

· Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
is there anything that one can do to make an alpha (not gen II) stronger. I posted earlier that I would like to make about 350-400 ponies, it looks like the alpha will prevent me from doing this, I could go with a more moderate engine build, say 300 prop hp.

It is my understanding at this point the max hp ratings for the drives is prop hp, is that correct?

Also how much hp loss does the leg have? 20-30%?

I am new to stern drives, please advise.

Higgy

· Registered
2,149 Posts
IMHO it is the upper tower shaft bearing that is the weak link, improved oiling is a must do. The bearing now survives by the oil being pushed bu the upper gear set and the RPM's are what kills them (the upper tower bearing is tiny). A drive shower is a must and I have had extremely good luck with Amsoils 75-90 GL5 gearlube (I think it foams less).

Good luck...BTW I have put a few GMPP ZZ4 crate motors in front of early Alpha's and had no problems with the above mentioned mods....But that being said, we prop the hell out of them to keep the R's at or under 5K.

GT :)hand

· Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok, that is a great start.

What I understand you to say is, improve oiling, keep rmp down.

Cool everything.

Which shower do you like there are quite a few, some look better than others, but dressing is not performance.

I also hear you saying keep the wot at or below 4800.

What about power application? easy up through plane then wot?

Thanks for the input!!

· Registered
2,149 Posts

Cool everything.

Which shower do you like there are quite a few, some look better than others, but dressing is not performance.

Thanks for the input!!