Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
3,559 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been using it for, lets see, 3 years now and I dont sweat like I did when I used a tax preparer. For us, although its a simple return since we're both retired, it has been very nice to just sit down and getter done, straight forward and easy to do. Even know some folks with a more complicated return (rentals, dual incomes, investments etc.) and they use it also with the same results. Just a thought and pretty economical also!:D NSF

·
Banned
4,957 Posts
I've been using Turbo Tax for many many years and love it. After a few hours, the info is sent. Fed is done, State is done and a couple of weeks I have a return nicely deposited into my account. I love the program.

·
I don't Member a thing
312 Posts
This will be my 4th year using it (self employed) and has been great. I got my Dad (retired) to use it last year after alot of convincing.....he loves it, but he really likes not writing a $450.00+ check to his old CPA. I have heard that this year there are some updates that won't be available till mid March which could/will prevent filling until after that date. I don't know how true this is as it is only something I had heard, I have not started mine yet so I can not say for sure.

·
Registered
1,579 Posts
I used to use that and it was easy and only took a few hours. Now my tax guy does them and I spend more time talking about boating with him that I do talking taxes. He literally takes about 10 minutes of my time and entering my info from my paperwork and then sends me my stuff in the mail. The time savings is worth it and I probably still end up ahead even after paying him what I do. The trick is to find someone who knows all the rules and laws and what can be deducted and how much and all that stuff. Just going to H&R block is a waste of money. You will probably get a better return doing it yourself.

·
Registered
3,559 Posts
Discussion Starter #6