Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a build going on 22ft Taylor jet drive daycruiser with 460 I am looking into motor mods is it worth the money stroke my 460 to 500+ci... I will be using dove c heads and tru trans manifolds... I would like to run 70-80 maybe more what power will I need and will I need stroker or what u veterns think... I'm new to jet boats....

·
Registered
1,713 Posts
I am not a jet guy,so not really the guy to listen to.....
But i am a ford car guy and that 460 can be pushed to around 550 inches easily cause of the tall deck hieght
And with the budget stroker kits that are available these days,i think you would be crazy not to do it,especially if you want to go 80+ reliably

·
Bostick Racing Engines
1,063 Posts
I have a build going on 22ft Taylor jet drive daycruiser with 460 I am looking into motor mods is it worth the money stroke my 460 to 500+ci... I will be using dove c heads and tru trans manifolds... I would like to run 70-80 maybe more what power will I need and will I need stroker or what u veterns think... I'm new to jet boats....
Stroker man... unless you plan on using cast pistons... the pistons, rings, & bearings will all run about the same whether you are std stroke or stroker... the difference will be the rods (which would be an upgrade so therefore a +) and the crankshaft... which when you think about how much to add a set of ARP rod bolts and resize rods and mag and grind a 30 year old who knows where it's been crankshaft vs what a new stroker crank and aftermarket rods cost... you're not looking at much difference. Plus the heads you have got a lot of potential for good hp whether you stoke or not... stroke being the easiest way to get ponies... especially since with the thru transom manifolds you're kinda limited on how much cam you can throw at it.