Performance Boats Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
I'm No Expert
3,142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a set that came on a trailer, i cleaned all the old greese out of them and now i'm ready to reinstall. I've never used them before so i'm a bit confused how to install.

MY bearing buddies have a wing nut on the zerk fitting, i can drive it all the way down or all the way out. Most of the BB instructions i'm finding online dont have this wing nut adjustment. can sombody shed some light on the installation and what the wing nut is for???

·
Registered
4,288 Posts
Mine have the zerk on the spindle, allowing you to lube from the back out. Most bearing buddies I've seen have the zerk on the outer cap??? Not sure why that would be better. As far as the wingnut deal I'm lost there, but I'm sure someone will know something. Got a pic?

·
Premium Member
7,810 Posts
Mine, you pull the bra off and the zerk is pointing at you like a nipple... the zerk is on the part thats spring loaded.
Boy does that leave a spot for a smart ass comment but I'm already in trouble for a Ford vs. Chevy comment!!!

By the way...that's how mine's set up but there's no wingnut.

·
Half a bubble off
2,467 Posts
Boy does that leave a spot for a smart ass comment but I'm already in trouble for a Ford vs. Chevy comment!!!

By the way...that's how mine's set up but there's no wingnut.
You think Woolify? I was all over that one but you beat me too it. :D

·
Amber Racing Services
4,341 Posts
Shaun ... let me get this straight ...

you have a wing nut or you don't? you have a zerk or you don't?

In your 1st post you said:
"MY bearing buddies have a wing nut on the zerk fitting, i can drive it all the way down or all the way out."

Then you said:
"Mine, you pull the bra off and the zerk is pointing at you like a nipple... the zerk is on the part thats spring loaded."

Your posts are so random and confusing at times ... just trying to figure this one out. You have a wingnut or a zerk?