Performance Boats Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Idaho Jet
188 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to a Berkeley Jet. Basically the Plugs on the bowl need to be removed and gear oil need to be pumped in until it goes out the other plug? How much does it hold? And of course the Zerk on top of the pump by the spec plate needs to be greased.....is that it or am I wrong......

Craig

·
Registered
2,510 Posts
That just about does it. I can't remember off hand how much oil but I don't think it takes a full qt or 90 wt.

·
lol, right.....
1,168 Posts
Not exactly sure how much oil it actually holds, but yeah... put it in one side till it comes out the other... You pretty much covered it. Far as the grease fitting goes, I usually give mine a couple pumps of the grease gun before a trip to the water.

·
mo balls than $cents$
11,734 Posts
fill from the lowest plug and let air escape out the higher plug. i forget how much they hold, been awhile since i've had a lubed bowl, i've just always filled till it puked out.

·
Registered
546 Posts
pull a vacuum leakdown test or leave the plugs out for a hr or two and verify that the lube level stays the same to see if the bowl seal is still good. if the seal is shot the lube can leak into the lower portion of the bowl.

·
lol, right.....
1,168 Posts
fill from the lowest plug and let air escape out the higher plug. i forget how much they hold, been awhile since i've had a lubed bowl, i've just always filled till it puked out.
Are the plugs at different heights? I never paid that much attention. I fill mine from the right side hole, cuz the steering cable kind of gets in the way of the bottle on the other side...

Fill & puke.... Like a long night at the bar.... :p

·
mo balls than $cents$
11,734 Posts
Are the plugs at different heights? I never paid that much attention. I fill mine from the right side hole, cuz the steering cable kind of gets in the way of the bottle on the other side...