Performance Boats Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
I'm No Expert
3,142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I see guys running the calgo setups and say they love them, then i see guys that install them and rip them right back off cuz they hated them. It's not just a few, seams like there's quiet a few that love them and hate them... So why?

Why do the guys that love them... love them AND why do the guys that hate them... hate them?

I have a calgo helm sitting in my garage, my current steering is rack&pinion and it's only a couple years old. I hate the amount of slack thats in the steering though.. it drives me crazy and makes me alittle nervous when holding the peddle to the floor.

·
Bostick Racing Engines
1,063 Posts
I'd say that it's just a matter of prefrence and each as it's advantages/drawbacks. From my experience, the calgo was, when set up right, very percise and really nice "quick" feel and reaction. The drawback was that when it gets out of adjustment, the cables get slack, the sheath wears, anything but spot on... it feels as if the steering is attached to rubber bands and it is very sloppy, took a bunch of effort to steer, and unpredictable (boat would wander quite bad sometimes). When I switched over to the rack... the steering was much less percise... but was very smooth and required very little effort. On thing other I noticed... no matter how bad the calgo got out of whack... I could stiull make it back in... the rack on the other hand... crusing down river all is good and the next thing you know... no steering... wheel spins and nothing. I'd say cost and availability is in favour of the rack, but cool and "racey trick bitchen" factor goes towards the calgo.

Of course my favorite is still the old school single cable box looking dealy-o (forget what it was called). Still have one in my Crusader, and really percise, quick ratio, and good feel.

·
Registered
643 Posts