Performance Boats Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,033 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so I'm trying to read up on these outdrives, I'm kinda new to them. Last boat was a jet, don't flame me. lol.

Question is, how necessary is a drive shower? The new boat has an alpha one drive, powered by a 350 (270-280hp I think?) in a 21ft Carrera. I keep reading they are notorious for getting hot so I'm thinking maybe I should just install one of these to play it safe. Thoughts?

Also which one is good? I just read it's not as efficient to run water over the bearing cap, instead it should be showering the side of the drive. (Thinner wall) Which makes sense I guess. Anyone have any experience with any certain brand? The site I read from recommends the Simrek Summit Max, but I see CP sells the Wicked Marine. Any others I should look at? Or should I stop reading and just put my boat in the water? lol.

·
Registered
934 Posts
Ok so I'm trying to read up on these outdrives, I'm kinda new to them. Last boat was a jet, don't flame me. lol.

Question is, how necessary is a drive shower? The new boat has an alpha one drive, powered by a 350 (270-280hp I think?) in a 21ft Carrera. I keep reading they are notorious for getting hot so I'm thinking maybe I should just install one of these to play it safe. Thoughts?

Also which one is good? I just read it's not as efficient to run water over the bearing cap, instead it should be showering the side of the drive. (Thinner wall) Which makes sense I guess. Anyone have any experience with any certain brand? The site I read from recommends the Simrek Summit Max, but I see CP sells the Wicked Marine. Any others I should look at? Or should I stop reading and just put my boat in the water? lol.

Great post, I have the same questions, only they are in regards to a TRS drive with about 550hp and a heavy boat. Can't wait to learn from the experts here...

·
Registered
1,033 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·