Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Mikes1975StarbuckJetBoat
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay...I admit it...I'm a newbie to Jetboats. I bought an 18' 1975 Starbuck Jetboat last year. I had to replace the rack and pinion steering on it about 14 days ago, as it was stiff steering. I had to pull out the left fuel tank and most of the interior to get the old cable out to replace it.

Information:

I have a 3 way single pole selector switch on my dashboard. Up is showing right tank on fuel gauge, middle is showing left tank on fuel gauge, and down shows nada on the gauge. Down is maybe a fuel cut off position?

I have a fuel selector switch (electrical) under the transom area, and I was told (when I bought the boat) that I should use the left tank first and that gas overflow will flow back into the right tank. (does this sound right to you guys?) I wish I knew what I was doing, and how this is supposed to be setup properly. I don't have any diagrams for the boat, or know where to turn to as the manufacturer is no longer in business. I have a BB 402 Chevy engine with mechanical fuel pump on the engine. Can anyone provide a logical fuel system routing diagram for fuel hoses, selector switch, and wiring for how these are supposed to be hooked up correctly with dual tanks? I need some help figuring this thing out, so I don't blow myself up.

When I removed the left tank I only disconnected the fuel line, the two sending unit wires, and the fuel fill hose to the tank, so I could get access to the steering cable. I haven't done anything else to it. (besides reassemble it). I just would like to know how this is supposed to be hooked up correctly, so I can ensure it is working right. I would also like some advise for which fuel tank I should use first, because I don't believe what the guy told me was correct.

Any help or advice would be appreciated.

Mike in Misery (Missouri)

·
Boss of the McIntyre Mob
1,981 Posts