Performance Boats Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Boat Vehicle Water transportation Skiff Speedboat
i have a 76 kona needs paint bad previous owner painted over the gel with out prep so its coming off like crazy and looks like poo.. im wanting to prime it and shoot it but i dont want to have to take the motor out and flip it .. is there a nother option..

·
Registered
2,359 Posts
View attachment 45858 i have a 76 kona needs paint bad previous owner painted over the gel with out prep so its coming off like crazy and looks like poo.. im wanting to prime it and shoot it but i dont want to have to take the motor out and flip it .. is there a nother option..
Chain fall stand the nose straight up You need a building with tall cielings, do the frt 1/2 then just raist the back 5 to 8 ft when your done with the front. Speed coat the back 1/2 black !!!

·
Registered
91 Posts
I'm no expert but I would imagine that you could lift it via the bow eye and the engine with 2 cherry pickers(engine lifts), pull the trailer out from under it, tape up the top, prep the bottom, and shoot it from underneath. Might need a gun that accepts the disposable bags to paint at that angle.

·
Registered
46 Posts
I have done this.......If you can get your hands on an A frame with a 2 ton chain hoist, get two large straps and lift, placing one strap at the rear and the other just forward of the dash. This should keep you close to balanced.......Adjust as needed, p/u and pull out the trailer. Then get some cinder blocks and a couple of 4"x4"' beams. I notched my beams to cradle the keel of the boat so it did not roll to one side. Then prep and gel. Once you are done you might have to move the boat to expose the two contact points where it sat on the beams and shoot them. It took one day to prep and shoot, I let it dry for two days and put her back on the trailer. Still great several years later.

Good luck

·
Registered
1,186 Posts