Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
511 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok since im new to the jet boat world and have no clue as to how this hull should ride (i grew up on vdrive flatbottoms) and I just cant seems to ever leave a boat as is I have a few questions.
In the vdrive world generally setting the motor a bit more forward in the hull seemed to have good results. Where do you want a jet boat motor to sit?
This motor seems to be pretty far forward, Im toying with the idea of setting the jet back as my "winter" project later this year. Im curious about setting the motor back as well. Good idea bad idea?
I am planning on a place diverter, this boat feels like its hugging the water too much, like a vdrive with the plates way down or an I/O all the way down. Since I have already blown my boat budget for this summer and cant afford a diverter and a 2 piece bowl for a droop snoot I am wondering if a wedge would be worth a try. Also is this considered a heavy hull or a lighter hull? 19' tahiti with 455 olds
Any thoughts?

·
Registered
136 Posts
Dont know anything about the set back thing, but you defininetly need a place diverter! It makes all the difference in the world on heavy boats! I have a Heavy 21 footer myself and when i start to trim up the place diverter its like an anchor gets lifted up and the boat picks up mph and rides better! A place diverter will bolt right up to your JC bowl.

·
Registered
511 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Dont know anything about the set back thing, but you defininetly need a place diverter! It makes all the difference in the world on heavy boats! I have a Heavy 21 footer myself and when i start to trim up the place diverter its like an anchor gets lifted up and the boat picks up mph and rides better! A place diverter will bolt right up to your JC bowl.
If I can only find one for dirt cheep id be set!:D

·
Registered
995 Posts