Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,528 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What is the best type of paint to use to paint the engine block?
Will automotive paint hold up to the heat?...H

·
MAMA TRIED
1,661 Posts
Imron polyurethane, or single stage urethane, por15, enamel. Its all in the prep work. I'm no expert, but I've done a few myself and the block needs to be perfectly clean. No oil, paint, grease,rust, or moisture or you will have issues. You don't have to prime the cast, but you can. I'm sure some of the other guys on here can help out more. There are a few paint guys around. Todd Griggs, Billy B etc.

·
Registered
421 Posts
I used an epoxy like on the brake calipers. Brush it on and it dries real smooth like you smoothed out the block.

·
Registered
194 Posts
We have had real good luck with ppg epoxy primer (dplf) and single stage urethane (dcc) it holds up real well. Like everyone else said, the prep work is the most important part.

·
jetboataholic
2,798 Posts
Clean and brush and scrub the block extensively. Use wire brushes, scotch brite, or anything else that is rough. Wash the block with both soapy water and solvent based cleaners. Like everyone else said, It's all in the prep work. I personally use primer, but I'm not a paint guy. If you do prime it first, you should scuff up the surface first to help the final coat stick better, but it's not necessary. Hope this helps. But like I said I'm not a painter, this is just what I do and it's worked for me.

·
Registered
851 Posts
Best engine paint I ever used on a bare, clean block was 'One Shot" the same stuff sign painters and pin stripers use. No priming. Tough as nails. Never cracked or peeled.

·
Registered
939 Posts
engine paint

I use Imron. that stuff will not come off at the machine shop. Same paint job has been tanked every year, and its still on there. No primer either.

Jerry

·
Some guy
3,619 Posts