Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
drink the ugly away
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i'm a newb and my name is oriah. this is my first jet boat, i just got it and dont know a whole lot about it or jet boats in general. i plan on rebuilding it myself and could use any and all the info you veterans have for me. now here is what i know and or was told about the boat. it is a 19' and was made by tahiti in 72 so i was told, altough the title says sea ray made in 71. it has a 455 olds? and a berkley jc

so, yeah like i said give me your thoughts

·
Banned
1,517 Posts
you have alot of work ahead of you have you taken on any project like this before?

·
drink the ugly away
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
you have alot of work ahead of you have you taken on any project like this before?

never done a boat before but do have exp working with glass building sub enclosures. also have exp with big block gm motors and a bunch of exp with paint, i'm hoping i can hadle it. pretty confident

·
Banned
989 Posts
maybe its the picture but it looks like a 17footer. i guess you have to ask yourself what do you want to get out of this boat(ski boat, lake boat, etc...). if you are into restoring things then go for it. looks like alot of work for what it would be. IMO for what some jet boats are selling for these days, you could probably be on the water alot cheaper & faster.

·
Banned
989 Posts
oh, and welcome to the site! :)

·
Banned
1,517 Posts
Yeah welcome aboard!:D thats what I was thinking lots of work for a 3-4k boat when you are done- but thats what its all about:Dfor some of us- if you enjoy the work its worth it !

·
jetboataholic
2,798 Posts
Get with "old rigger" here on the boards. He will be able to tell you if it is a Tahiti or not, and if it is, he can tell you almost anything you want to know about the boat (he used to work for Tahiti):D