Performance Boats Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
I'm No Expert
3,051 Posts
I try to avoid it now....first trip out I had it in the air a few times...here's what happened when a stock pump "reloads" as soon as it hits the water again....

http://www.performanceboats.com//showthread.php?t=40425&highlight=wiped
You said in that thread your motor makes a bit over 600 HP... i think thats over the limit on the aluminum impeller? My last mill which i estimated some where around 500 HP had a old worn aluminum impeller. I would load/unload the shit of out of that thing (not really by choice, parker sucks ass) and mine held together. Course not to say that it would have stayed together if i would have kept going it season after season but i think your HP was probably playing a large part of why you broke that thing.

·
Registered
1,558 Posts
You said in that thread your motor makes a bit over 600 HP... i think thats over the limit on the aluminum impeller? My last mill which i estimated some where around 500 HP had a old worn aluminum impeller. I would load/unload the shit of out of that thing (not really by choice, parker sucks ass) and mine held together. Course not to say that it would have stayed together if i would have kept going it season after season but i think your HP was probably playing a large part of why you broke that thing.

The only reason the impeller was destroyed is because the unloading and reloading blew apart the thrust bearing...everything went to hell from there.

·
Sit N' Spin
1,345 Posts
From what I've been told, the boat sees more abuse riding on the trailer than launching over wakes. The main thing that takes the abuse as mentioned above is the pump itself.

I'd strongly recommend upgrading to the Aggressor 17-4 shaft and a mag bronze impeller. It can not only more than handle the horsepower, but it can take the shock loading a lot better as well.

·
I'm No Expert
3,051 Posts