Performance Boats Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello all, Im brand new to this V-Drive hobby, just brought this boat off my neighbour after hounding him for the last 5 years to sell it to me. (just for the colours and the lunacy of it I guess)
anyway, I would like some help in identifying the exact hull design if possible ?
I know it was made in February 1973 (according to the I.D number on the stern)
but don’t know how to tell if it’s a drag, circle, ski, bubble top etc.etc.
haven’t had it in the water yet, couple of small jobs to attend to first but really looking forward to trying it out.
Has a very lively small block chev in it with a heat exchanger fitted for salt water use which is very handy for round here.
all advise/suggestions will be greatly appreciated..
cheers,
Nick.
Sky Motor vehicle Plant Vehicle Cloud
Cloud Wheel Tire Sky Vehicle
Boat Cloud Sky Watercraft Plant

Cloud Wheel Tire Sky Vehicle
Boat Cloud Sky Watercraft Plant

·
Registered
11 Posts
Persistence certainly paid off! Sanger is one of the most iconic manufacturers of v-drive boats of the 1960's and 70's. Your boat is referred to as a runner bottom which are capable of faster speeds than standard flat bottom hulls. You can spot a runner bottom when you see three cavitation plates with the one in the center lower than the ones on each side. Jim Cole was a prime developer of the runner bottom design that most manufacturers followed which improved on the classic flat bottom design.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Looks like a classic drag boat to me. Post a few pictures that show the front of the motor and connection to the v-drive assembly and the accelerator pedal, down pedal and override handle.

·
Premium Member
678 Posts