a little over 15in of Vacuum at Idle(900rpm). I'm having trouble
getting the idle mixture correct. The primary's are 1 1/2 open from
seated & the secondary's are 1/2 from seated. If I turn one side of
the idle mixture screw all the way in, nothing happens. If I leave it
and go to the other side I can finally get the motor to start to die
w/ 1/2-1 turn in (set at 1 1/2 out). I'm trying to keep from drilling holes
in the primary plates. Should I maybe open the secondary plate a little
and close the primary respectfully to lessen the exposure of the transfer
slot? I'm just learning these holley's from having Edelbrocks.......
Thanks for any input in advance!!

·
Boat Nut
5,131 Posts
Hi guys, I need a little advise as to which way to go about
this; I have a 454 9.5/1comp, holley 800dp marine 9022 carb,
Edelbrock Victor Jr (rect), Crane ZHR-288 cam(226/234 @.050),
a little over 15in of Vacuum at Idle(900rpm). I'm having trouble
getting the idle mixture correct. The primary's are 1 1/2 open from
seated & the secondary's are 1/2 from seated. If I turn one side of
the idle mixture screw all the way in, nothing happens. If I leave it
and go to the other side I can finally get the motor to start to die
w/ 1/2-1 turn in (set at 1 1/2 out). I'm trying to keep from drilling holes
in the primary plates. Should I maybe open the secondary plate a little
and close the primary respectfully to lessen the exposure of the transfer
slot? I'm just learning these holley's from having Edelbrocks.......
Thanks for any input in advance!!

There is a screw for the secondary plate stop, accessed from the bottom of the carb, thru the base plate. I like to remove that screw, and run in an Allen set screw from the top side of the base plate, this allows adjustment while still bolted on the engine. All the four corners should be set the same, if you have one that is not functioning, you have some blockage some where in the circuit. hope this helps

·
Strap on the JATO
305 Posts