Performance Boats Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
AIR POWER
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an old ass 800 dp holley and have tried rebuilding it and still have something wrong with it. Can anyone send me in the right direction on where is the best, and cheapest place to buy a new 850 dp. Also I can not find anywhere in my area where you can still take a carb to be flow tested and rebuilt, is there still places like this anywhere, maybe where a guy could ship his carb to get fixed? Thanks.

·
Sit N' Spin
1,345 Posts
I have no experience with Bigs Performance, but a lot of people I have talked to seem to favor them for carb rebuild and setup. Here's their website.

http://www.bigsperformance.com/

I believe Shaun (actual screen name) here on the boards recently had a carb built by them. Reading his post about it, for shits and giggles on the dyno they tried changing the tune on it and ended up losing power as a result.

·
Sit N' Spin
1,345 Posts
now, that there is funny.

no affence, but arnt those your carb threads.
I meant no experience with Bigs Performance. Just corrected my wording. Thanks.

·
Registered
383 Posts
compressed air

take your rebuilt carb(that doesnt run well) and take it back apart, blow compressed air through every square inch of the thing (exept power valve) , all and every hole in and on the thing. blow in vacume holes, find out where it is coming out, and blow it back the other way. holleys are simple carbs.

also you need to carb dip it ( clean ).

i understand that your probably frustrated with the thing, and just want a pro to finish what you started. i dont blame ya. i had my 650 dp pro done. cost me $300.00 . then i needed a bigger one. found an 800 dp on craigslist for 100.00 . there was no way i was spending another 300.00 on top of that. my neighbor told me (holleys are the simplest carbs on the planet).

i took his advise. the thing works perfect.

compressed air!!!!!!!!!!!!!

·
Registered
113 Posts