Performance Boats Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
how i really do care for an V6 2 stroke Evinrude 150hp outboard as thiswas my first ever outboard in this size thiswas my first ever 150hp V6 outboard as im thinking of getting these outboards in future as far i knew as well needed was right way to mix50;1 premix on my 1st ever Evinrude 150hp V6 2 stroke outboard as you need to tell me how i can service these older model Evinrude's these was the model im thinking of getting in future same thing of the Johnson of that year too these was the premix outboards in the V6s as im getting a good outboard as im an ex outboard mechanic i knew this was really easy to service myself can you give me advice on these outboards say these was from 1985 and later models thiswas my first ever V6 outboard on my next boat as im from Australia and really have alot to learn on these outboards

·
Registered
1972 Rayson Craft
21 Posts
The very first thing you should do is change the water pump impeller in the lower unit and change the oil in the lower unit. Get rid of any fuel in tanks and inspect the inside as best as possible. Change the spark plugs and inspect the motor just like you did in the past with any outboard. For the same weight you could find a 235hp. I miss the 2 strokes! I had a Johnson 235 on a 20' Sleekcraft SST tunnel and it would run 80 mph all day with a 26" prop and would run all day with skiing on two 15 gallon tanks.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·