Performance Boats Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I believe it’s a early 70s hallett v drive. Would it be competitive? Above all else I just want to go fast in a straight line. Is it super heavy and would it take a ton of power to be actually fast? The power limit on an engine I can build is about 800 horsepower what kind of speed could I reach with a mill like that with the right gearing? I’m new to all this
I have attached some photos, any help appreciated

Attachments

·
Village Idiot
3,545 Posts
Without considerable hull modifications you would be right around the triple digit mark. If you used a drag hull (a runner bottom) of good design then with that power number there is no reason 110-115 should not be within reach. Also, a runner bottom would handle the power much better where the Hallett would be much more touchy.

Paul

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So I should wait until I find something like a hondo sprint? A runner bottom is just a flat bottom right?

·
Village Idiot
3,545 Posts
Flat vs runner

if you look at the cavitation plates on a flat and then on a runner you will see a noticeable difference. Runner bottoms have tunnels that range from .5” deep to 2” deep. These tunnels make them much more efficient and therefore can be faster with the same amount of power. They are also very often considerably lighter than the old boats of the sixties. Do some searches for runner bottom v-drives and you will see that they are the pick for straight line stuff. Now if you really want to go fast on a straight line then I would consider a hydro. Easier to drive and even more efficient with the use of the power

·
Steady Rollin
1,162 Posts
so in your title you mention "racing", are we talking about an actual sanctioned race or just "racing with your buds on the weekend" kinda racing?

The answer to that would play into what I would want as well.