Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
I'm No Expert
3,139 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i went to fire the new build yesterday and when i turned on the water it started squirting out the front of the engine passenger side. It came out the front and out the second bolt hole. I installed the cometic intake gaskets dry and used a tiny bit of gasket cinch around the water ports. I'm wondering if it wasnt enough. I know it's not excessive water pressure because i have a pressure guage. Wondering what some of you guys do to seal your intake, with my last manifold i rtv'd the whole gasket both sides, wondering if i should do the same this time.

·
Registered
4,045 Posts
Shaun, Did you use sealer around the threads on the bolts? Some do go into water jackets and will leak by the threads! WT:)devil

·
Premium Member
25,975 Posts
So i went to fire the new build yesterday and when i turned on the water it started squirting out the front of the engine passenger side. It came out the front and out the second bolt hole. I installed the cometic intake gaskets dry and used a tiny bit of gasket cinch around the water ports. I'm wondering if it wasnt enough. I know it's not excessive water pressure because i have a pressure guage. Wondering what some of you guys do to seal your intake, with my last manifold i rtv'd the whole gasket both sides, wondering if i should do the same this time.
I know you had problems getting that manifold to line up. Are you sure the manifold isn't hitting the block at the front and rear. I have never used the cometic intakes, but if it leaks and isn't hitting the block, you may have to rtv them like the you did before. Double check the manifold bolts?

100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3

·
Premium Member
25,975 Posts