Performance Boats Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am helping a friend build a new 427 cu in SBC to go racing. It has a alky digger tunnel ram with 2 1050 carbs and planning on running a 400hp shot of nitrous so it should be pretty stout. The boat is a TR3 and from what he tells me it used to be a blown gas boat and has been over 140 MPH. I would have to assume this boat is dialed in as it has been raced for many years.

I was talking to another friend who has a blown gas flatty and he has had to lower his motor because of drivability issues. This was an unrigged boat so there were no existing motor plates or "starting point". This got me thinking about this boat that is going from a BBC to a SBC and with less power. I have no experience with v-drive drag boats so I have been reading a lot, but wanted to ask your opinions before we set the motor plates.

Should we keep the rear motor plate in the same spot to start?
Will the weight/HP reduction require the engine to be moved forward or backwards/up or down?

Question for anyone using nitrous.
Does a large shot of nitrous affect the boat? Does it need to come in before the starting line, after it sets or right off the line?

Should anything else need to changed/modified going to a SBC that we should look at?

Thanks

·
Just another Wannabe
1,204 Posts
First of all, motor placement doesn't mean that much. You can move the motor four inches back or forward and see very little change in a v-drive boat. Also, the height of the engine doesn't mean that much unless you are turning left. Plus, changing height means adding u-joints to a driveshaft and re-making motor plates, and no one wants that when the boat is set up nice already.