Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
I'm No Expert
3,139 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been lagging on posting the build, gotten a few PM's from people asking what the deal is with it too. So here's the build thread :)

BBC 454 4 bolt Gen 4 Block .070 over
Scat 4.25 Forged Crank
Engine Pro Racing Forged H Beam Rods w/ L19 bolts
Mahle Forged Pistons
Cometic head Gaskets (.030 thick)
GM 990 Heads with some port work and larger intake valves (2.25)
Chris Straub Cam
MSD 6AL + Crank Trigger + locked out Pro-Billet Dist
Edelbrock Victor JR Tunnel Ram
Bigs Performance Stage 5 750 holley carbs
Morel Solid Lifters
Scorpion 1.7 Roller Rockers
B&B Jet boat pan from rex
Melling HiVol oil Pump

·
I'm No Expert
3,139 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Parts Pics

New Scat 4.25 Forged Crank from Chris Straub (cstraub).

Engine Pro Rods, Forged, H-Beam w/ L19 bolts. There site says these rods support up to 1500 HP. I had both ends of the rods checked. The small end was on the tight side (.0007) and mahle wanted to see more like .0008-.001. I had them dusted to .0009. The big end i also had checked and dusted.

Mahle Forged Pistons. This time around i went with a floating pin, these use the wire locks.

Mahle Box piston info

·
I'm No Expert
3,139 Posts
Discussion Starter #3