Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all - Im trying to sort out the 454, bored to 468, in my little jet boat. It has an Accel dual-point mechanical distributor, no vacuum. It fires up and seems to run well, no issues when revving it, etc, no other known runability issues.

Im currently looking to check and adjust the timing. I have an advance strobe light with the dial knob on the back. When I fire it up, put the strobe on it, and rev the engine up to 3,000 or even 3,500 RPM, the timing mark doesnt move. Im still new to this but I know the mark should move as RPM increases and I was expecting to have to turn the dial on my strobe light to get it back to where it was at idle and that would tell me the all-in (fully advanced) timing, but again, the timing mark doesnt move.

I dont think its a strobe light issue because if I turn the knob on it while engine is at idle, I can make the timing mark move that way.

Any thoughts? Thank you!

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
After reading a bit more, could this possibly mean that a previous owner locked out the timing/distributor so that it only runs at full advance?

I was hoping to replace the points with a Pertronix electronic conversion kit. Will this have any affect if the distributor is indeed locked out?

Another possibly odd thing, when the engine was at idle and I put the strobe to it, the yellow line on the balancer was only reading like 4-6 BTDC. And course as I mentioned, when I revved the engine up to 3500, the timing mark never moved.

·
Village Idiot
3,453 Posts
The advance mechanism might be stuck from rust or junk. Or it could have been locked out. Timing should be somewhere between 32-40 degrees depending on the engine combo.

Paul

·
Some guy
3,614 Posts