Performance Boats Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can someone help me out here, I have a water leak at what I call a "Nylon Coupler", the water leaks from the front of it. Also "what are the procedures"
to replace the coupler. I can grab the coupler and it moves all around and what is the correct name of this coupler, as I need to tell the people at the marine parts what I need to buy....... I am new at this.
Thanks in advance for your help
Cactus

Attachments

·
Registered
8,169 Posts
Packing....

I think that shaft log seal has a "rope" seal in it. Gently tighten the two hex shaped pieces together and it may seal your leak.....Ray

·
Registered
5,312 Posts
Ray is correct, as usual:). If that doesn't stop the leak you can replace the rope packing on the inside with new packing. That should fix you up...:)

Steve

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Ray is correct, as usual:). If that doesn't stop the leak you can replace the rope packing on the inside with new packing. That should fix you up...:)

Steve
I tried to tighten the two hex shaped pieces together,but it was as tight as it would go. My question is how do I remove the two hex pieces from the shaft so I can replace the rope packing.? Do I loosen the allen screw from the clam on the shaft and slide it up forward..? Still learning
Thanks for a quick response !!!

·
Administrator
11,649 Posts
I tried to tighten the two hex shaped pieces together,but it was as tight as it would go. My question is how do I remove the two hex pieces from the shaft so I can replace the rope packing.? Do I loosen the allen screw from the clam on the shaft and slide it up forward..? Still learning
Thanks for a quick response !!!