Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can somebody explain what the valve on top off some jet pumps is for. I am new to jet boats. I bought a 1978 26' Hawaiian Party Cruiser with a bbc that was not properly winterized(in MN) and cracked the block. It has Berkley 12 JC pump. Want to learn what I can about it. Thank you:)

·
AKA OhOneWS6
2,637 Posts
That is a big ass jet. Cool boat. Post some more pictures of it. Long story short a pop off is a valve that lets the pressure by pass the pump prior to the bowl. In a fast boat when you lift off the gas at high speed the pump will continue to load causing the ass end of the boat to lift and the bow to dive. This can cause the driver to lose control. A pop off gives this pressure somewhere to go. I am sure someone will chime in with a better explanation.

·
Registered
102 Posts
Popoff valve

Said well I found that a Popoff was needed on my 19 Daytona when I started exceeding the 110 mph mark. Agressive shoe cuts and depths caused the nose to dive during deceleration and loss of control as said. I would never go back without one unless staying under the 100 mph mark. Captain P

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys. Here are a few more pics.

That is a big ass jet. Cool boat. Post some more pictures of it. Long story short a pop off is a valve that lets the pressure by pass the pump prior to the bowl. In a fast boat when you lift off the gas at high speed the pump will continue to load causing the ass end of the boat to lift and the bow to dive. This can cause the driver to lose control. A pop off gives this pressure somewhere to go. I am sure someone will chime in with a better explanation.
Thanks for the responses. Where is valve mounted? In place of the hand hole cover? Here are a few more pics.

Attachments

·
Registered
851 Posts