Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello out there in boating world. I am new to this, i have just aquired a used jet boat that has a seized engine, I was told that this jet boat is a 1976 charger runabout (ski bass), i believe it has a olds 455 engine. Is it worth it to repair or is the boat not worth anything, it has not been in water for about 5 years. How much money am i going to spend to get this thing back in the water? Is it worth anything as is?

Attachments

·
Registered
1,553 Posts
Money spent depends on alot of differnet variables.. What condition the hull is in what condition the jet is in, the eletronics the controls etc etc.

This winter i rebuilt my jet, rebuilt the carbs, replaced the entire eletrical system including gauges and controls (steering wheel and trim controls) and replaced all the carpet. That plus rewiring the trailer and replacing the trailer axle i figure i am in for 3 grand this winter in my partial restoration. the only thing i really did not touch was the gelcoat and the aphulstry. However my engine was already working.

Lots of good guys on here and lots of good experience. You can find just about anything you need to know about a jet on these boards.. So welcome aboard and how about some pictures of the boat?

·
Classic Hotboater!
932 Posts
Hello out there in boating world. I am new to this, i have just aquired a used jet boat that has a seized engine, I was told that this jet boat is a 1976 chapman challenger but i could not find any information on this make or model, I am an auto tech so i have engine experience, i believe it has a olds 460 engine. Is it worth it to repair or is the boat not worth anything, it has not been in water for about 5 years. How much money am i going to spend to get this thing back in the water?
Post up some pics of what you have.

·
Banned
3,605 Posts