Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone! i just got my first jet boat! a 1973 Tahiti with a 455 olds and a berkeley pump!

I'm new to the whole carburated engines thing and i can't seem to get it running right. One thing i noticed is there is no vaccuum line running from the carb to the distributor (its an HEI) Is this a bad thing?
I figured it needed it so i put one one, now i have to re-time the engine but i can't even get it to idle anymore. Its backfiring into the carb. Even when i unplug the vacuum line (not having changed anything else) its not running right anymore....any help is appreciated!!
Thanks,
Gerrit!

·
Registered
7,464 Posts
I'm new to the whole carburated engines thing and i can't seem to get it !

Welcome to PB forums I quoted this (above) because it occured to me that to alot of young people these contraptions (Carbs) are new and different, made me feel like a dinosuar :D

re your Olds the backfire thru the carb could be a multitude of maladys from closed up/dirty points to a flat cam , start with basics , get a good compression tester and run a compression test you should see no more than 15lbs variation and around 125 psi cranking compression on all 8 cyls ,also keep the spark plugs in "order" and look at them for consistancy (color and deposits) more info and pictures would be helpful to make your diagnosis Tom

re "vac advance" they have no place on a jet boat IMO , set you ttl timing around 32 to 36 all in at 2500 (depending on altitude and compression ration , fuel type etc )

·
Registered
506 Posts
x2 plug the vac line, if it has a alum. manifold get it running and spray wd-40 around base of carb and where manifold bolts to heads listening for rpm to increase this is checking for vac. leaks, the hei is alot better than points but check for dirt and corrosion under the wires and coil, look inside cap for cracks, the list goes on if that is not it

·
Registered
582 Posts