Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
I'm No Expert
3,139 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
About that time to do a oil change and was thinking about makin a change. Last i remember I was running mobil one 15w40 in this engine. Course i could be wrong, I've swapped thicker and thinner a few times in the past when testing oil pressure. I still have a lower oil PSI than I would like, and a thicker oil seams to help when things get hot. Normally this is about the time I would set aside at least an hour and give Bob, GN7, a call. Boy he could talk about oil forever! I'm thinking about trying out the redline racing oils and curious if any of you guys have run it and what you think. I'm looking specifically at the 40wt stuff.

Red Line Synthetic Oil - Motor Oil for Racing - 40WT Race Oil (15W40)

·
Registered
208 Posts
I too have a bit too low of oil pressure (55psi hot) due to gun drilled rods, spring oilers, etc. Works well for me and can get it anywhere.

·
223 Posts
Race Oil

We have been running Delo 400 w/ Lucas synthetic oil additive for over 12 years, with no failures. I now of a half a dozen guys running 8 sec blown alcohol boats that use it. :)

·
Registered
5,853 Posts
About that time to do a oil change and was thinking about makin a change. Last i remember I was running mobil one 15w40 in this engine. Course i could be wrong, I've swapped thicker and thinner a few times in the past when testing oil pressure. I still have a lower oil PSI than I would like, and a thicker oil seams to help when things get hot. Normally this is about the time I would set aside at least an hour and give Bob, GN7, a call. Boy he could talk about oil forever! I'm thinking about trying out the redline racing oils and curious if any of you guys have run it and what you think. I'm looking specifically at the 40wt stuff.