Performance Boats Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I wanted to ask for some advice and not sure what I should do. I just replaced the headers and tails on one of my engines and replaced the switchable tips for both. My question is: Has anyone polished their own drives with any success. What are the pros and cons of doing so? Do I need to remove the lowers to poish them? Will it help to put some clear on them afterwards?

The lowers are the 2" shorties from IMCO. They are on my 42 fountain. The back of the boat is shaping up and starting to look nice. But I feel the satin finish just doesnt complete the look. I have no polishing experience but have the airtools and supplies to start. I have a long winter ahead and upgrading the engines is gonna have to wait till I can find somebody I trust. So In the meatime I wanted to do a couple of projects on my own.

I also just ordered a new set of six blades, should wake the boat up a little next year.

Please any constructive advice is greatly apreciated. I thank you in advance for your insight.

Thanks MP

·
Because KAP said so...
273 Posts
Take a DA air sander and sand with 600, then 800, no need to remove the drive and if you have air tools get some white rouge and go to town but you can also obtain the same results with flitz or any other billet pollish, the more you pollish the nicer it looks...The down to pollishing the lower is that you will lose some MPH but I did it to my MMW @ 130mph I was not worried about 1-2mph, I would like to look cooler roling down the road:D

Attachments

·
27 Victory 800efi
420 Posts
Why would polishing it make you lose MPH?
The smooth surface actually sticks to the water more and thus adds more friction between it and the water. Same reason why waxing the hull can lose a couple mph, whereas sanding the hull might gain a couple mph.

·
Boat Bling Distributor
1,163 Posts