Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
steelcomp was here
26,512 Posts
Where are you guys getting good deals at on parts these days? I've been searchin the web looking for a price better than $279.99 on a MSD 8620 Crank trigger kit but have found nothing...
That's about as good as you're going to get.
Summit has Mallory crank triggers, $259.99, Jegs has a crank trigger kit with dist, trigger, ignition, coil, and wires. Jegs probably has the Mallory as well.

·
Resident Ford Nut
10,075 Posts
Jegs or Summit if you don't see it in the catalog call them with the part number and they'll get you the part.

If you are looking for used stuff check out racingjunk.com

Moroso has a crank trigger too.

Sleeper CP :D

·
I'm No Expert
3,139 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
any reason to choose those brands over the MSD other than price? Was going to go with the MSD just to keep all the ignition stuff matching (MSD).

Also, what about coils. Running the blaster 2 now, notice alot of you guys are running the square looking ones. Any advantage other than being able to mount them whatever direction you want?

·
steelcomp was here
26,512 Posts
any reason to choose those brands over the MSD other than price? Was going to go with the MSD just to keep all the ignition stuff matching (MSD).

Also, what about coils. Running the blaster 2 now, notice alot of you guys are running the square looking ones. Any advantage other than being able to mount them whatever direction you want?
Crank trigger doesn't know what ignition it's firing, and vice versa. If you want red, buy MSD. If you want black, buy Mallory. Some just buy the pickup and make their own.
Two different types of "square" coil...one is drag race only.

·
Registered
1,242 Posts
Support your local speed shops!

I would buy it at Fast Eddie's Speed Shop in Orange myself. Just for grins try calling over there and talk to Rob or Levi.

·
I'm No Expert
3,139 Posts
Discussion Starter #9