Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
I'm No Expert
3,139 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Pulled the crank today, going to replace the rod bearings, figured might as well since it looked like junk ran through them and i still had things apart.

I noticed that some rods move very easy, the pins will slide back and forth and let the rod move around easy. Then i have 3 pistons/rods that are hard to move. They are tight enough to where i can position the rod at any angle and it will stay. The others gravity would do it's job and the rod would come down. Is this normal?

·
Registered
2,234 Posts
Pins and pistons have contamination in them, IMHO the pistons need to be removed, cleaned up and rehung, had the same thing happen to me..

The wrist pins should move very free...otherwise could "tear up a skirt",( a piston skirt :D )

GT :)hand

·
Registered
2,135 Posts
Talked to dave at dne today about it too, he said the same i need to take them out and see whats going on. Guess this things comming apart... Shit cranks out, pistons are comming out, heads off.... might as well stroke it to a 496 :D if only i had the extra $$
Better now than the alternative!

·
B1 Racing
6,523 Posts
Shaun, Pfaff just did a freshen up on a set of pistons/pins we had lying around. Take your stuff down there, they can dial-in what youve got, if needed they can set it up for a new slightly (.001) oversized pin.

·
Registered
8,169 Posts
496??

Talked to dave at dne today about it too, he said the same i need to take them out and see whats going on. Guess this things comming apart... Shit cranks out, pistons are comming out, heads off.... might as well stroke it to a 496 :D if only i had the extra $$