Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts
1,011 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know the principal and function of the power valve. And I can see their purpose in a street driven engine. But in drag racing it's usually idle or WOT. So is there any reason to run or not run one?

Tim

·
Registered
6,575 Posts
I know the principal and function of the power valve. And I can see their purpose in a street driven engine. But in drag racing it's usually idle or WOT. So is there any reason to run or not run one?

Tim
some feel that it's preferable to remove/plug the pv and square the carbs to get equal flow through all 8 barrels at wot. theoretically, midrange economy drops when the carbs are squared and no pv, but hard to say; you'd have to know what the a/f ratio is.

·
I'm No Expert
3,139 Posts
some feel that it's preferable to remove/plug the pv and square the carbs to get equal flow through all 8 barrels at wot. theoretically, midrange economy drops when the carbs are squared and no pv, but hard to say; you'd have to know what the a/f ratio is.
I was told that if you do any cruising to go with a PV, for somthing that just idles and mash, no PV.

My 660's didnt have a PV, i just got a set of 750's with PV's from bigs performance. We'll see this year if i notice better gas milage and this year i have a bigger mill :)devil

·
Registered
6,575 Posts
I was told that if you do any cruising to go with a PV, for somthing that just idles and mash, no PV.

My 660's didnt have a PV, i just got a set of 750's with PV's from bigs performance. We'll see this year if i notice better gas milage and this year i have a bigger mill :)devil