Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,005 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just learned how the electoral college elects the president and not the people at the poles on election day? If I'm in Havi who would be my local state representative?
*&^% guess I'm just learning how to vote.

·
Registered
5,487 Posts
Just learned how the electoral college elects the president and not the people at the poles on election day? If I'm in Havi who would be my local state representative?
*&^% guess I'm just learning how to vote.
It use to be this stuff was taught in school. Its amazing how many people truely have no clue how the election process truely works. There are alot of people in this country that would benefit greatly by the initiative you took in educating yourself. Technically those electoral votes do not have to go the way of the popular vote, but they rarely go the opposite direction of the popular vote for the particular region.

·
E-7 Sheepdog (ret)
6,834 Posts
It use to be this stuff was taught in school. Its amazing how many people truely have no clue how the election process truely works. There are alot of people in this country that would benefit greatly by the initiative you took in educating yourself. Technically those electoral votes do not have to go the way of the popular vote, but they rarely go the opposite direction of the popular vote for the particular region.
And, if memory from HS Government class is correct, thast varies by each state's laws regarding their electors.

Some states it is an "all or nothing" vote, winner of the electors gets all electors.
Some states split it by percentage, candidate with 75% of the vote (for example), gets 75% of the electors.
And yes, nothing guarantees the electors vote for the state winner, it just normally happens that way.

Bad part is, some of this may have changed since I was 17 in H.S. in 1984, 25 years ago.

·
"On the road again..."
9,356 Posts