Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
4,288 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Rumor has it you can trim alum. plate with a router and a carbide bit. Are these bit just wood bits/tips????? Or are they special made for metal bits? I'm tired of filing and am lookin to clean this up a little.

·
Registered
292 Posts
Forget it. To make it come out nice you would have to make several jigs each one to remove a little more than before because you could only take off a small amount at a time.

·
Registered
4,288 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well... I think I could clamp a straight edge for the router to follow on the side that's straight(that's the one I jigsawed), the bottom round hole is from the factory, ....I guess I'll have to file the sides. Thanks for the help.lol

·
I'm No Expert
3,139 Posts
I think I could clamp a straight edge for the router to follow on the side that's straight
I didnt use a router but thats what i did with a jig saw to cut straight lines. I trimed my motor plates to fit and they came out great. One thing i found, a continueis spray of wd40 makes the cut alot cleaner and makes the blades cut alot longer. I just bought a few cans and had a buddy sit there and spray the blade while i was cutting. i would assume it would help even if you where using a router.

·
steelcomp was here
26,512 Posts
The carbide bits will work fine. If you take off just little at a time, you can use a straight edge like you said, or even make some patterns. A router spins a little on the fast side, so you need to be careful and not take too much at a time. WD works well and if you do a little experimenting, you should get the hang of it.

·
Premium Member
4,704 Posts
Go for it. Trim it up with a jigsaw. Make a jig out of plywood to the shape you want to finish off the cut. Then final cut with a 2 flute carbide plunge bit following the jig. If you try to to do this freehand you will be sorry:D