Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I went to the river this past weekend and pulled a rookie mistake backing up my friends boat trailer. I have been boating for over 15 years now and besides leaving the drive down once I now have this to add to my list of mishaps. After a long day of boating on the river I went to get my friends truck and trailer to do my part. As I was backing down the launch ramp the trailer completely disappeared on me due to the angle of the launch ramp and the height of the truck (chevy 4 door long bed deisel on 38' tires). I was lined up perfect, so I thought and some how I managed to hit the boat dock. I was so sick to my stomach the rest of the trip because not mine and my friends boat/trailer are basically brand new. Hopefully someone can relate, just feel like shiat.

Wondering how much a triple axel fender with diamond plate will run me?

trailer fender.jpg
whoops.:dumb_ass:

·
mach26 300's
1,216 Posts
i have the exact same truck and size tires as well as triple axle trailer and i know what you mean. I can easily see how you can loose touch of the trailer being that high, next time put the tailgate down, it does help so you can see the end of the trailer a little bit. since its not a stainless fender, it should not be too much to fix at all, probably re-using the diamond plating since it looks to be rivited on. good luck.

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I wanted to drop the tailgate but I was afraid of hitting the gate on the trailer jack. i guess it would have cleared it no problem being so high. lesson learned, when it doubt stop and get out.

·
Registered
5,838 Posts
You need to tell your friend to drill a hole and mount a back-up camera in the center of the license plate! And get one of the Rex marine stringer washers and add some angle to it on the bench grinder(to face it down). :D