Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Renegade jet
472 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a PFM twin turbo intercooled system and the carb plenum has a water hookup and I did not hook it up because I thought it would make the fuel to cold and cause puddling. However, someone was telling me they thought it might be to run warm water through to add heat and prevent puddling. What do you guys think? I ran the boat today at around 3k rpm just to make sure I had no leaks or anything stupid and the plenum was really cold even without being hooked up to the water.

·
Banned
742 Posts
I always ran the engine oil thru the carb box, to the turbos. It is "water/oil" jacketed, to prevent the throttle plates from FREEZING open! That carb and box can get so cold durring long WOT conditions that the throttle plates may actually get stuck/frozen OPEN.

·
Registered
6,278 Posts
I've been running mine dry for a couple years now with no problems, it used to have warm water coming out of the engine then through the carb box and finally exiting through the headers. I didnt see the need to "warm" the fuel then intercool it, so I plumbed around the carb box, also gets rid of a little weight from the additional water onboard.

How's that thing running ?

·
Renegade jet
472 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I haven't had a chance to push it yet. I just took it out on sunday to hang at the sandbar. It is running and nothing seems to leak. I will take it out later during the week and run it a little harder and check the plugs and make some adjustments.

·
mo balls than $cents$
11,734 Posts
I haven't had a chance to push it yet. I just took it out on sunday to hang at the sandbar. It is running and nothing seems to leak. I will take it out later during the week and run it a little harder and check the plugs and make some adjustments.
got any pics of it yet?

·
Highaboosta
3,431 Posts
There was a nice smoke plexiglass splashguard on there.
Did you get that with the boat ?

Attachments