Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to outdrives and im looking at a boat that has a volvo penta 280 drive (old school) Im trying to find out if this is decent drive and what kind of power it can handle? any knowledge of this drive would be great because i dont know crap about them. :wink2:

Thanks

·
Registered
1,553 Posts
One of the best drives ever made but it is not a performance drive. Should handle 500hp all day.

·
Registered
432 Posts
Im new to outdrives and im looking at a boat that has a volvo penta 280 drive (old school) Im trying to find out if this is decent drive and what kind of power it can handle? any knowledge of this drive would be great because i dont know crap about them. :wink2:

Thanks
it's a decent drive parts are expensive the shafts are small but strong I don't think they ever put it behind a big block but I know of a couple that did with good results I think there are adapters to put merc props on them

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the replies,
Its in a 22' schiada with a small block chevy and runs great just not very fast. I am looking at buying it and just wanted to know what im getting in to. Its not going to be a race boat just a good all around family ski and cruising boat. Im thinking about just beefing up the small block alittle to try and get the boat to run maybe in the mid 50mph range? :)Unsure what do you guys think?

·
Registered
1,414 Posts
Thanks for the replies,
Its in a 22' schiada with a small block chevy and runs great just not very fast. I am looking at buying it and just wanted to know what im getting in to. Its not going to be a race boat just a good all around family ski and cruising boat. Im thinking about just beefing up the small block alittle to try and get the boat to run maybe in the mid 50mph range? :)Unsure what do you guys think?