Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My jet boat is a 460 pi in a baja hull it has a crane cam 294B-8 . I want to know if I can put a bigger one . I have stock water cooled headers. Inverted dome pistons stealth. Intake and police intercepter head that have been ported to match scj heads . And a 850dp .

·
Resident Ford Nut
10,075 Posts
What rpm range do you want to run it in? Max rpm and roller cam or hyd or solid flat tappet?

What are the specs on that Crane cam? and what does it spin now?

S CP

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
650 hp on pump gas

It turns 8000 rpms. Cam solid flattaped . I don't know all the spec on the cam . I just got the boat . And started taking apart the engine. I want to get about 650 hp. Out of it .on pumped gas . Can anyone point me in the right direction. I am new to all of this . Thanks

·
Some guy
3,610 Posts
It turns 8000 rpms. Cam solid flattaped . I don't know all the spec on the cam . I just got the boat . And started taking apart the engine. I want to get about 650 hp. Out of it .on pumped gas . Can anyone point me in the right direction. I am new to all of this . Thanks
Better check out your tachometer. Sounds like it may have a setting for 4/6/8 cylinders, and it's on the 4 cylinder setting, not very likely that you are turning 8000 rpm.

·
Registered
1,379 Posts
Your numbers do not compute! As said above, check your tach, check the condition of your pump. Give us the size of your impeller. Something is not right here. 460 fords don't turn 8000 rpm and live. (nothing does for long).

Duane HTP

·
Registered
25 Posts
My jet boat is a 460 pi in a baja hull it has a crane cam 294B-8 . I want to know if I can put a bigger one . I have stock water cooled headers. Inverted dome pistons stealth. Intake and police intercepter head that have been ported to match scj heads . And a 850dp .

Here are the specs for your cam :

Adv. Duration I / E:
294 / 304