Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
I'm No Expert
3,139 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I opened a brand new tube of GE window & door Silecone II and sealed my pump up last night. Today i come out and it's still as wet as it was when it came out of the bottle. Figured ok maybe because it was cold last night, so i pull the boat out into the driveway so the sun and get at it and it's still wet. What would cause this, i was thikning maybe i bought one that was old?

Sucks cuz now i ahve to pull the damn transom plates again!!!

·
Re-member
146 Posts
yep its no good. I have founf that if the stuff doesnt have that real bad smell to it then its old and wont harden. I did the same thing once and installed a pump just to have to re do it because the stuff would not set up.

·
Registered
163 Posts
The GE Silicone II is crap. They say not to let it get above about 90 degrees or so, if it does, it won't harden. Had it happen many times. Who's garage doesn't get above 90? It could get above 90 in a semi trailer during transport or in your car while shopping. Go for the older style 100% Silicone I with the acetic acid / vinegar smell. it speeds up the hardening with water, just what our group needs.

·
Administrator
11,648 Posts
Use a good marine grade silicone, like Boatlife. Not all silicones are the same.

·
I'm No Expert
3,139 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I've been using GE Silicone II because thats what [email protected] told me to use. Thanks for the responces. I guess it's possible that the tube could have gotten over 90*. I think i might have brought this tube to the river with my last trip out just-in-case. Never opened it, figured it would just get hard, not stay soft!

·
CLASSIC HOTBOATER
739 Posts
GE Silicone II swells when oil hits it
it will break down and peel off if it even sticks
use 3m 5200 and never look back

·
www.highflowdynamics.com
1,161 Posts
Always run a test bead first to check for curing before actual use.

LO

·
I'm No Expert