Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 20 of 136 Posts

·
I'm No Expert
3,139 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well the motor runs strong, sounds good, but when it's idleing i can bearly see alittle bit of white smoke when it's running out of the right (even side) bank. I'm pretty much positive i know what cylinder is causing the problem because when i pulled the plugs last time the number 6 plug was black and oily looking. When i saw i see white smoke at idle, i'm talking like you have to be up close and looking at exhaust to see it so it's not a huge amount but what does suck is at startup. When i start it up after i had shut it down and let it sit for a while a nice puff of white smoke comes out and then it cleans up. What do you guys think this could be, i'm guessing there's pretty much nothing i can do to fix this other than tear it down?

·
Registered
3,866 Posts
Well the motor runs strong, sounds good, but when it's idleing i can bearly see alittle bit of white smoke when it's running out of the right (even side) bank. I'm pretty much positive i know what cylinder is causing the problem because when i pulled the plugs last time the number 6 plug was black and oily looking. When i saw i see white smoke at idle, i'm talking like you have to be up close and looking at exhaust to see it so it's not a huge amount but what does suck is at startup. When i start it up after i had shut it down and let it sit for a while a nice puff of white smoke comes out and then it cleans up. What do you guys think this could be, i'm guessing there's pretty much nothing i can do to fix this other than tear it down?
Shaun, Need info on the boat to think. M

·
Registered
3,866 Posts
Shaun, run a compresion check first and call me back. M

·
Cantard
5,017 Posts
My guess is that if its a bbc it is leaking water past an exhaust guide or the guide has a crack in it.

·
Registered
84 Posts