Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 20 of 83 Posts

·
Registered
479 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
If so do you run a top end lube or just filll er up and run er? Any problems with gumming up? need to run it out of gas at the end of the day or???

·
Registered
4,288 Posts
In addition to the "lack of lube" thing, I'm told jetting will be different than with gas.

283 Posts
I have been running av in my motor for the last 12 years with NO problems!No top end lube. No running it out at the end of the weekend! No gumming up NOTHING!Lots of people over the years have told me it hurts your motor thats total B.S!I also have a solid flat billet cam and run ONLY 60wt valvoline racing oil and the cam is still good!Also av is 100 octane low lead! But at sea level it's more like 110. I will continue to run it as long as I can get it.although my motor is 9 to 1 I dont have too I just do it burns cleaner and its not that much more that pump at the dock.

·
Registered
479 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have been running av in my motor for the last 12 years with NO problems!No top end lube. No running it out at the end of the weekend! No gumming up NOTHING!Lots of people over the years have told me it hurts your motor thats total B.S!I also have a solid flat billet cam and run ONLY 60wt valvoline racing oil and the cam is still good!Also av is 100 octane low lead! But at sea level it's more like 110. I will continue to run it as long as I can get it.although my motor is 9 to 1 I dont have too I just do it burns cleaner and its not that much more that pump at the dock.
Hell if i can get a full season outta my motor id be tickled. Haha

·
Registered
4,288 Posts
Av gas must be different than race fuel then, because with a 9 to 1 motor you'd make more power on pump gas than 110.

·
Registered
320 Posts
I have run 100% 100LL for 3 years now. 502 with 8.75:1 compression and 9 lbs. intercooled boost. Started off running Marvel but found it was not needed/waste of money.

·
Resident Ford Nut