Performance Boats Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, Just signed up here. My new to me boat is a 1977 Glaston/Carlson CVX 20 with a 460 Ford and berkley pump. I am new to jet boats but not to boating. The engine compartment is really cramped and I am wondering where the water drains on the block are? the next question is when the boat is in the water it has a leak around the transom. what is the best way to fix this? Of course the is plenty of silicone already laid on the outside of the transom. Thank you for any help. Karl

·
Registered
4,288 Posts
Hi guys, Just signed up here. My new to me boat is a 1977 Glaston/Carlson CVX 20 with a 460 Ford and berkley pump. I am new to jet boats but not to boating. The engine compartment is really cramped and I am wondering where the water drains on the block are? the next question is when the boat is in the water it has a leak around the transom. what is the best way to fix this? Of course the is plenty of silicone already laid on the outside of the transom. Thank you for any help. Karl
You need to figure out where your leak is....if your intake is leaking that could be very dangerous, and may need to be reset.

·
Horsepower sells Engines
402 Posts
your going to need to send some more info on the leak, and for the blue oval block drains depending on the set up guys with cramped engine compartments use hosing to get drain to a accesable location, so your going to need to get a mirror and look. you should post some picks of your new boat.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys. My leak seems to be coming around the bowl to transom seal. Is there a rubber seal or just silicone on the transom? I will try to post up some pics. Karl

·
Horsepower sells Engines
402 Posts
i re built my latly and it had a rubber seal i added silicon to keep water off seal

·
Registered
1,885 Posts